Marriage doesn’t work for everyone the way they thought it would. If it isn’t working out, and you have mutually decided to separate tracks, you may want to go for a Divorce; divorce laws in Massachusetts can get you through and save you from a headache. Expect the following in your checklist if you are going for a Divorce in Massachusetts.
Know the basics of divorce laws:
You can file for divorce in Massachusetts if you have continuously lived in the state for a year.
It takes 90 days for a divorce to be final because of the statutory waiting period. However, if both the parties agree to terms like child custody and property division, your divorce will be quicker.
The grounds for divorce can be dealt with in 2 ways, either you decide to go for fault or no-fault divorce. A fault divorce determines who is responsible for the failure and obtains a more significant share of property or damages based on their spot. You claim that you cannot repair the marriage with a no-fault divorce, and it is time to move on.
Types of Divorce
Massachusetts has only one no-fault divorce ground, but the state has two types of no-fault divorce. There is an Uncontested 1A divorce and Contested 1B divorce, and getting a 1A divorce is easier, faster, and cheaper than 1B. To better understand which type of divorce to seek, always know all the forms and procedures since both differ widely.
Like in any legal proceedings, filing for divorce also involves a lot of paperwork. However, you can always search online to gather information and instructions. You can download forms and submit them afterwards. Once you have completed all the documents, make sure to have at least two copies, along with the originals. You must file the paperwork in the country where you and your spouse live together. As long as either of you lives in that county-or if both of you have moved from that county, in the county you currently reside.
Finalizing the Divorce
After the Judge grants your divorce and until it is completed, the period between is Divorce Nisi. It gives both the parties a chance to change their minds and rethink if they lie about anything before the final divorce. There is no need to do anything as divorce becomes automatically final. You cannot remarry until divorce nisi is over. “1A” divorce doesn’t become final until 120 days after the judgment date. “1B” divorces aren’t final until 90 days from the date of the hearing if a judgment is entered.